Board of Trustees


David Morgan, Esq.
Board Chair and CEO, D. Morgan & Partners

Mr. Morgan is founder and managing partner of D. Morgan & Partners, a government affairs firm that specializes in developing and implementing advocacy and communication strategies relating to a host of issues including tax, financial services, and telecommunications.  Prior to launching the firm, Mr. Morgan served for almost 10 years as Vice President for Federal Government Affairs for the American Express Company.  In that role he managed the government and public affairs portfolio for the American Express OPEN business and the Tax and Human Resources functions and also served as Treasurer for the American Express Company’s political action committee.  Mr. Morgan’s government service includes six years as tax and legislative counsel to a senior member of the House Ways and Means Committee, U.S. Congress. He is a member of the Potomac Coalition, an economic development and political advocacy organization focused on expanding economic opportunities for African Americans.

Dr. Salvatore J. Monaco
Board Vice Chair and Former President of New Charter University

Dr. Monaco currently serves as Interim Chief Academic Officer of Patten University. Previously, Dr. Monaco was formerly Executive VP at UniversityNow and Provost and Academic Vice President of Western Governors University, a private, non-profit, adult-focused university based in Salt Lake City with an enrollment of over 20,000 students from all 50 states. Dr. Monaco has also served as Executive Vice President and Provost of the American College of Education, and Interim President of the New England College of Business and Finance. He spent 10 years at the University of Maryland University College in various positions, including Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School of Management and Technology.

Dr. Rod Paige
Former US Secretary of Education and Interim President of Jackson State University

Dr. Paige served as the 7th US Secretary of Education from 2001 to 2005. Dr. Paige earned a reputation for taking innovative approaches to foster systemic academic improvement as Dean of the College of Education at Texas Southern University. In 2001, the American Association of School Administrators named him National Superintendent of the Year for his service with the Houston Independent School District, then the nation’s seventh largest district.

Dr. Joe D. May
Chancellor, Dallas County Community College District

As Chancellor, Dr. May leads the seven independently accredited colleges of DCCCD – one of the largest community college systems in Texas. Most recently, Dr. May grew the Louisiana Community and Technical College System to serve 111,000 students. Dr. May has provided leadership to 13 colleges as the System President for the Colorado Community College System, which enrolled 116,000 students. Before this, he served as the President of Pueblo Community College and helped develop the American College of Education in Chicago, Illinois, and Bogota Community College in Bogota, Colombia.

Dr. Ana Guzman
President Emerita Palo Alto College

Dr. Guzman most recently served as President of Santa Fe Community College (SFCC). Prior to SFCC, she was the first female president of Palo Alto College. Dr. Guzman serves on the Governing Board of the Hispanic Association of Colleges & Universities, the National Security Education Board, and the Board of Trustees of the College Board. She served as Senior Advisor to Education Secretary Richard Riley during the Clinton administration, Chair of President Clinton’s White House commission on Educational Excellence for Hispanic Americans, and President of the Texas Association of Chicanos in Higher Education.

Dr. Janet L. Holmgren
President Emeritus, Mills College and Former Vice Provost, Princeton

Dr. Holmgren currently serves as Senior Vice President for Strategic Advancement at UniversityNow. Previously, Dr. Holmgren served as President of Mills College for 20 years and Vice Provost of Princeton University. She has served on the Boards of Princeton University, Mills College, the American Council on Education, the National Association of Colleges and Universities, the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, the Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities, the National Council for Research on Women, the Women’s College Coalition, and the Urban School of San Francisco.

Hon. Elihu Harris, Esq.
Former Mayor, City of Oakland, CA and Former Chancellor of the Peralta Community College District

Mr. Harris served as the 46th mayor of Oakland, California from 1991 until 1999. Before his election as Oakland mayor, he served for 12 years (from 1978 through 1991) as a member of the California State Assembly. From 2003 to 2010, Mr. Harris was Chancellor of Peralta Community College District.

Mr. Gerard Robinson
Resident Fellow, American Enterprise Institute

Prior to joining UniversityNow as Vice President of Partnerships, Gerard Robinson served as Florida Commissioner of Education and Secretary of Education for the Commonwealth of Virginia. Before working in Virginia, Gerard was President of the Black Alliance for Educational Options, a national nonprofit organization whose mission is to actively support parental choice to empower families and increase quality educational options for Black children. Gerard is a board member of the G.O.A.L Scholarship Program in Georgia, a founding board member of K.I.P.P. STRIVE Academy in Atlanta, an advisory committee member for both the Program on Education Policy and Governance at Harvard University and College Summit, and a member emeritus of Chiefs for Change.